Koderma – Giridih new line on ECR to fully open for traffic on February 25

Come February 25, train services will commence on the 24-km long Kawar – Maheshmunda section of the 110.8 km Koderma – Giridih line.

With this, the new line will be completed and would provide another connection between the grand chord line and the main line between Howrah and Deen Dayal Upadhyay Jn in the eastern part of the country.

Koderma to Giridih New Line

Train Services extended

Train number 53666 from Koderma to Kawar has been extended to Maheshmunda and will return as 53665 Passenger. Train number 53666 will depart Koderma at 0545 hours and reach Maheshmunda 0845 hours while train number 53665 will leave Maheshmunda at 0915 hours and reach Koderma at 1225 hours.

Similarly, train numbers 53370 /53369 has been extended to Madhupur. Train number 53370 will leave Koderma at 1430 hours and reach Madhupur at 1835 while train number 53369 will leave Madhupur at 1900 hours and reach Koderma at 2325 hours.

CRS Inspection

Work in last part i.e. Kawar – Maheshmunda (24 KM) is completed and CRS inspection done on July 26, 2018.

87 km length of this rail line is already up and running as the project was already commissioned in two phases- Koderma – Nawadih (34 Km) in June’2013 and Nawadih – Kawar (53 Km) in August’2015.

Sanctioned in 1997-98, the Koderma – Giridih new BG line (110.8 m) connects Maheshmunda station of Madhupur – Giridih section (taking off from Howrah – Patna main line at Madhupur Jn) with Koderma station on Grand chord line, thus providing alternate connectivity between main line and the grand chord line.

The original sanctioned cost of works is Rs. 372 crore and the latest sanctioned cost being Rs. 927 crores. Expenditure on the project to date is Rs.925 crores.

Salient features of the projects are:

Item Full project Between Kawar – Maheshmunda
Length 110.80 Km. 24.3 Km
Cost Rs 927 Cr Rs395 Cr
Minor Bridges 153 Nos. 32 Nos.
Major Bridges 23 Nos. 4 Nos.
ROBs 61 Nos. 9 Nos.
RUBs 27 Nos. 10 Nos.
Ruling Gradient 1 in 150 1 in 150
Maximum Curvature 3 degree 3 degree
Temporary LCs 5 Nos. 0 Nos.

Recommended For You

About the Author: RailPost News Desk

Tell us what you think about this post!