Kolkata suburban : ER and SER to resume local trains from November 11

Eastern Railway (ER) and South Eastern Railway (SER) will resume suburban services between Kolkata and its suburbs from November 11,2020 onwards.

Indian Railways has taken this decision based on the request from the State Government.

Resumption of train services will be done in phases said a statement from Railways.

Eastern Railway

Over Sealdah division, ER plans to restore 413 locals while Howrah division will run 202 services initially according to an ER statement.

Sealdah division

Of the 413 services on Sealdah division, 270 will run on the Sealdah Main/North (including Circular Railway) section and the remaining 143 on the Sealdah South section.

Sealdah Main/North section

The section wise break up of 270 services on the Sealdah Main/North section including Circular Railway is as follows:-

Sealdah- Krishnanagar – 22

Sealdah – Naihati – 24  

Sealdah-Ranaghat-Lalgola -10

Sealdah – Hasnabad – 26  

Sealdah- Barasat-Duttapukur 8

Sealdah-Shantipur -14  

Sealdah- Kalyani Simanta -14

Sealdah- Barrackpore -18  

Sealdah-Dankuni – Baruipara 32

Sealdah – Ranaghat-Gede-24

Sealdah – Ranaghat section – 13  

Ranaghat – Bangaon-17  

Sealdah -Bangaon-39

Bangaon/Naihati – DumDumJn / Majerhat -7

Sealdah – BBD Bag -2

Sealdah South section

Of the 143 train services across Sealdah South section, the section wise break up is as follows:-

Sealdah- Komagata Maru Budge Budge-27

Sealdah – Lakshmikantapur-Namkhana-21

Sealdah-Diamond Harbour- 24  

Sealdah – Canning – 31  

Sealdah -Sonarpur- 19 and

Sealdah -Sonarpur- Baruipur- 21

Howrah division

Of the 202 services on ER’s Howrah Division, the section-wise break up is a follows:-

Howrah – Bandel- 38


Howrah – Katwa -12  

Bandel – Katwa – 8

Howrah -Tarakeswar -19  

Howrah-Barddhaman via main line-20  

Howrah- Barddhaman via chord line-22  

Bandel – Naihati- 8  

Howrah – Baruipara – 2

Howrah – Masagram – 4

Howrah – Haripal -2

Howrah – Srirampur -6  

Howrah – Pundooah -2

Bandel-Pundooah -1  


Howrah-Chandanpur -4

Howrah – Gurap section-2

Howrah – Seoraphuli -14

Howrah – Belur Math -4

Howrah – Singur -4 and

Bandel – Bally -2

The suburban time table is available on the ER website.

South Eastern Railway

Effective Wednesday, November 11,2020 SER will run 81 services as per the suburban timetable given below. These services are open to all sections of the society.

Initially, SER will run 40 in the UP direction and 41 services in the Down direction as per the existing suburban time table of 2019-20.

Of the 40 services in the UP direction, the break up of services is as follows:-

Howrah-Midnapur -13

Howrah-Panskura – 8


Howrah-Amta -4

Howrah-Haldia -2

Howrah-Kharagpur -4





Mecheda-Digha-1 and


Of the 41 services in Down direction, the break up is as follows:-




Bagnan -Howrah – 1







Digha-Mecheda-1 and


The details of local train services which are to be restored along with timings at originating and destination stations is given below:-

SER Time Table

Tickets expired during lockdown

IR has extended the validity of suburban season tickets which expired due to lockdown to the extent of days lost.

The extension may be obtained at the booking counters of the concerned stations from 08:00 hrs. of November 9,2020 on ER.

Normal journey tickets will be available from booking counters over all suburban stations in Kolkata area effective November 11,2020.

Passengers have been urged to maintain Covid-19 health & hygiene protocol mandating the use of mask/face cover, sanitizer along with physical distancing.

Recommended For You

About the Author: RailPost News Desk

1 Comment

Tell us what you think about this post!

%d bloggers like this: